“The Jefferson Park Branch of the Chicago Public Library” by S.M. O’Connor

The Jefferson Park Branch of the Chicago Public Library serves four of Chicago’s seventy-seven community areas: Jefferson Park (Community Area #11),[1]  Forest Glen (Community Area #12),[2] Norwood Park (Community Area #10),[3] and Portage Park (Community Area #15)[4] on the North Side of Chicago.  The Jefferson Park Branch Library opened in its current location in 1970.

It is on the south side of Lawrence Avenue between Long Avenue to the west and London Avenue to the east.  The Jefferson Park Branch Library is located one block southeast of the Chicago Park District’s seven-acre Jefferson Park.  It is actually just outside Jefferson Park Community Area, and is just inside the Portage Park Community Area, as Lawrence Avenue is the dividing line between Jefferson Park to the north and Portage Park to the south.

The branch has several artworks.  These include a collection of photographs of foreign landscapes by Jeannine Krawczyk; a folk art painting; and a book quilt and two framed sample blocks for that quilt that were handmade by Bonnie Vondarche, a member of the Friends of Jefferson Park Branch Library.

A CyberNavigator technology tutor is available from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. on Wednesdays and from 2:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Thursdays.  The CyberNavigator offers help in Spanish as well as English.  Call ahead to confirm availability.  CyberNavigators offer help both through classes and a one-on-one basis.  One-on-one help is available by appointment for up to one hour.  CyberNavigators teach about computer basics, e-mail and Internet basics, online job searching and resume writing, Chicago Public Library Website and database resources, and eBooks and other digital content.  This program is paid for by grants through the Chicago Public Library Foundation.

The Jefferson Park Meeting Room can hold up to seventy-five people.  It has ten tables, seventy-five chairs, and a screen.

The Jefferson Park Branch Library is closed on Sundays.  It is open from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Mondays and Wednesdays, from 12:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

The address is 5363 West Lawrence Avenue, Chicago, Illinois 60630.  The phone number is (312) 744-1918.


[1] Jefferson Park is comprised of three neighborhoods: Jefferson Park, Indian Woods, and Gladstone.  The suburban village Jefferson Park was named after one of the Founding Fathers, Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826). [Thomas Jefferson was primary author of the Declaration of Independence, founder of the Democratic-Republican Party, Secretary of State (1790-1793), Vice President of the United States of America (1797-1801), and President of the United States of America (1801-1809).]  Jefferson Township, a civil township, annexed the village in 1889.  Chicago incorporated Jefferson Township in 1872.

[2] Forest Glen is comprised of three neighborhoods: Forest Glen, Edgebrook, and Sauganash.

[3] Norwood Park is comprised of six neighborhoods: Big Oaks, Norwood Park East, Norwood Park West, Old Norwood Park, Oriole Park, and Union Ridge.  The Oriole Park Branch of the Chicago Public Library is in the Chicago Park District’s Oriole Park in the neighborhood of Oriole Park in the Community Area of Norwood Park.

[4] Portage Park is comprised of a single neighborhood, also called Portage Park; the Chicago Park District’s thirty-six-acre Portage Park; and the Six Corners shopping district.  The Portage-Cragin and Austin-Irving Branches of the Chicago Public Library are also both in Portage Park.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close